Politics and Whatnot

Just another liberal political blog

Gold below $1600/ounce – and I look smart. Kinda.

Hey, remember this? It’s probably my second most popular post (after my Adobe Flash license agreement rant, which seems to have really struck a nerve), I’m guessing because it’s the top Google result for “gold ridiculously overpriced.”

Yes, gold fell below $1600 on Monday, then went up for a bit Tuesday, and fell slightly further today.  Which means – I was right about something!  Great, now everyone can start paying me a billion dollars for investment advice.  Where’s my show on CNBC?

Ok fine, there was about two months where gold went even higher, above $1900, even though I said it was totally overpriced at $1600.  And gold is only a little under $1600 now – it could very easily spike again, especially if the Greece debt talks fail.  So, I’m not out of the woods yet.  But let’s face it – once a bubble is popped, it doesn’t get unpopped all that easily.  My next prediction?  Gold under $1000 by the end of the year.

By the way, I have no economic credentials whatsoever and really have no clue what I’m talking about.  Then again, neither does anyone else.

One response to “Gold below $1600/ounce – and I look smart. Kinda.

  1. Pingback: Time to eat crow on gold (sort of) « Politics and Whatnot

Leave a reply - name, email, and website is optional

